Learn English with English, baby!

Join for FREE!

Social_nav_masthead_logged_in

English Forums

Use our English forums to learn English. The message boards are great for English questions and English answers. The more you contribute, the more all members can practice English!

:  

Teacher Talk

Warm Up Exercises?

sammy33

United States

Hi, I am a new student TEFL teacher just starting out. Can anyone suggest some 5-15 minutes warm up exercises for the start of the day either beginner or intermediate level. Smile 

Thank you!

04:05 PM Jul 09 2009 |

The iTEP® test

• Schedule an iTEP® test and take the official English Practice Test.

Take Now >

MichaelK

United States

Code-breaking
Use a simple substitution code (A=1, B=2, C=3, etc. or A=26, B=25, C=24, etc.) Use the code to write your students a simple message, like ‘English is fun!’, and then have groups or pairs race to decode it.

I sometimes write new words from the previous lesson(s) on small cards and hand them out to the students. They then have to explain the word without saying any part of it. It´s a nice kind of "vocab check" and the students seem to like it.

05:15 PM Jul 09 2009 |

gkisseberth

Germany

Something similar to MichaelK's suggestion:

I do a game called "hot seat" after we've covered a lot of new vocabulary. (I've seen it called other names, too)

Ss are divded into two teams (one on each side of the room) and one member of the team sits with their back to the board or to the teacher and facing the rest of the class (the hot seat)

The teacher writes a recently learned word or phrase on the board so the two hot set students can't see and their team has to be the first to make their teammate say the word or phrase. They can (and will) talk all at once, so it can be rather noisy, but very energetic. Set rules at the beginning of the game (no L1, no spelling of words, or "starts with..", "rhymes with…" etc)

It's easy to use with any level, and students seem to enjoy it.