Learn English with English, baby!

Join for FREE!

Social_nav_masthead_logged_in

English Forums

Use our English forums to learn English. The message boards are great for English questions and English answers. The more you contribute, the more all members can practice English!

:  

Life Talk!

Who is your favorite character in World's history?

cynthia_Verdin

Mexico

Who do you admire from history, maybe some person from your country that contributed to get better the situation in your place of birth? Why do you admire him or her? What did she/him do?

01:22 AM Apr 16 2008 |

The iTEP® test

• Schedule an iTEP® test and take the official English Practice Test.

Take Now >

M. Augustus

United States

I'm a historian by trade, so naming a single character in history is not really possible, but one I've really been digging lately is the Roman Emperor Julian the Apostate, sometimes known as the Last Pagan.  He came about 50 years after Constantine's legalization of Christianity, and he was the last real opponent of Christianity in the Roman world, favoring religious diversity and finding the culture-destroying austerity of Christianity offensively dull.  Had he lived to old age, we might have had a very different world today – but he was killed in a battle, possibly murdered by a Christian who opposed his views.

01:35 AM Apr 16 2008 |

gkisseberth

Colombia

Julian sounds like my kind of guy. Maybe when i get that time machine we can do something about that early death.

I will admit a US bias, and say that one of my favorite historical people is Thomas Jefferson.

02:32 AM Apr 16 2008 |

M. Augustus

United States

According to legend, Julian's last words were "Vicisti, Galilaee": "You have won, Galilaean."  Of course, in my poetic demi-pagan heart, I want to believe that the recorder of these words didn't hear quite correctly, and that the dying Emperor sputtered out a "nondum": 'not yet' in the phrase, that later history has forgotten.